Jean O’Brien – The Wind Blows Through

JeanObrien profile

Download PDF Here

Jean O’Brien’s fifth collection her New & Selected was reprinted by Salmon Publishing in 2018.  She was awarded the Patrick & Katherine Kavanagh Fellowship in 2017/18. An award winning poet she won the Arvon International Poetry Prize and the Fish International prize and was recently shortlisted for the Voices of War competition run by UCD Historical Dept. She worked as writer in residence in Co. Laoise. She holds an M.Phil in creative writing from Trinity College, Dublin and tutors in poetry/creative writing, in places as diverse as Prisons, schools, Community Groups and the Irish Writer Centre. Her work is widely anthologised most recently in: Eavan Boland:Inside History (Eds. S. Campbell & N. O’Mahony), Reading the Future (Ed. Alan Hayes), The Lea-Green Down (Ed. Eileen Casey), Metamorphic: 21st century poets respond to Ovid (eds. N. O’Mahony & P. Munden) currently part of the Manchester University’s, Write Where you are NOW curated by ex Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy.     UCD Poetry Archives Youtube

01 Jean Obrien LEPW June 2020

02 Jean Obrien LEPW June 2020

© Jean O’Brien